Austin Wilkins Award

Austin Wilkins

Forest Stewardship Award

The Austin Wilkins Forest Stewardship award is the foremost recognition for landowners and individuals who are outstanding examples of managing Maine’s working forest in an exemplary and sustainable way.

The Austin Wilkins Forest Stewardship Award recognizes a Maine individual, group, organization or company that stands above peers to show a continuous commitment or single exemplary contribution to the culture, heritage and future of the Maine forest.

The Commissioner of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry and the Maine Tree Foundation Executive Director choose the Award Recipient periodically, but not more often than annually.


This is our opportunity to put good forestry in the spotlight and showcase the recipient’s commitment to forest stewardship with a beautiful hand carved cherry plaque.

2019 Austin Wilkins Award Ceremony

The 2019 award was presented to the Maine Association of Conservation Districts on Tuesday, October 22, 2019 at the Blaine House.  The award was presented to Andrew Reed, MACD President and Carol Weymouth, MACD Executive Director.  See the photos below:


  • Patty Cormier, Maine Forest Service Director

Click here to read an article about the event!


Honored Award Recipients

2004    Austin Wilkins

2005   Seven Islands Land Co & Pingree Heirs

2006    No Award

2007    Sherry Huber & John Hagen

2008    Baskahegan Timberlands

2009    Baxter FMA & Jensen Bissell

2010    Prentiss & Carlisle

2011    Robbins Lumber Company

2012   Robert Linkletter & Linkletter Family

2013   Maine Tree Farm Committee

2014   Robert Chadbourne & Chadbourne Family                                                        

2015   Irving Woodlands, LLC

2016    Max McCormack

2017    Maine Woodland Owners

2018    No Award

2019    Maine Association of Conservation Districts



Comments are closed.